Southern Maryland Soft Shell Crabs

April 26, 2011 § Leave a comment

This summer my cousin came home from his brother’s house with a bag of cleaned soft shelled crabs pulled from the shores of the Potomac River. Beaming, he proudly told us that he would be taking these home with him. My cousin lives 12 hours away.

Needless to say, my aunt pulled a, “Oh hell-to-the-no! Those are not going to rot in the summer sun as we drive home.” Sitting (salivating) at the kitchen counter, I knew that these delicacies were ours. Soft shell blue crab sandwiches cost upwards of $10 a pop ’round these parts–and they’re right in our backyard!

Soft shell crabs can stand on their own. They don’t need extra flavors or spices–just a quick dredge through an egg and flour or cornmeal and off they go! I did, admittedly, add some Old Bay in there. I couldn’t help it.

I can’t remember what we ate with these. I think next time I’ll go ahead and dredge ’em in rice flour–this allegedly produces a crispier shell of fried goodness. And I’m all about that.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Southern Maryland Soft Shell Crabs at Inhaled.

meta

